2nd International Congress of Musicology

Athens Concert Hall, 4-6 November 2003


Ion Zottos

Associate Professor at the Music Department of the University of Athens. He studied English and Music in Greece, Great Britain and the U.S.A. M.A., Ph.D. at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia. Research fields: history of music (Renaissance 19th century), history of several musical genres and forms (opera, chamber music), comparative theory of literature and music. He is a member of the Advisory and the Editorial Board of Musicologia, as well as of the International Siegfried Wagner Society.
Church Music of the Baroque Era. Claudio Monteverdi: The Mass and Vespers of 1610, Athens 1996.
The Early String Quartet, ca. 1760-1790, Athens 1996.
Humanism and the Birth of Opera, Athens 2003.