2nd International Congress of Musicology


In collaboration with the Music Library of Greece “Lilian Voudouri” and the Athens Concert Halls Organization
Supported by the Goethe-Institut Athen, the British Council in Greece and the Institut Français d’Athènes

[Announcement]          [Contributors]          Detailed program          [Proceedings & paper abstracts]


Music Analysis and Interpretation

A Contribution to the Centenary since Th. W. Adornos Birth

Athens Concert Hall, 4-6 November 2003

Detailed Congress Program

TUESDAY, 4.11.2003
09:30 – 10:00 Registration
10:00 – 10:30 Welcoming address by Nikos Tsouchlos, Artistic Director of the Athens Concert Hall’s Organisation
Welcoming address by Christoph Stroux, Head of the Music Library of Greece “Lilian Voudouri”
Welcoming address and Introduction to the congress by Olympia Psychopedis-Frangou, Editor-in-Chief of the journal Musicologia
10:30 – 11:00 Olympia Psychopedis-Frangou:
Opening lecture: The Actuality of Adorno’s Aesthetics. Approaches to his Theory Today [Abstract]

Morning Session
Chair: Christoph Stroux
11:00 – 11:30 Ion Zottos:
Music as Metaphor in Délie by Maurice Scève [Abstract]
11:30 – 12:00 Pyrros Bamichas:
The Choice of Analytical Instruments, and the Evaluation of Analysis in the Approach of Early Baroque Music [Abstract]
12:00 – 12:30 Panos Vlagopoulos:
Triangularity and Reference in Music Historiography [Abstract]
12:30 – 13:00 Irmgard Lerch-Kalavrytinos:
Analytical Aspects of Motets by Philippe de Vitry: Tenor and Meaning [Abstract]

Afternoon Session
Chair: Hermann Danuser
17:00 – 17:30 Christoph Stroux:
Bach analyses Bach [Abstract]
17:30 – 18:00 Markos Tsetsos:
Musical Analysis and its Object. Theoretical Observations [Abstract]
18:00 – 18:40 Constantin Floros:
Musical Semantics and Semantic Analysis [Abstract]
18:40 – 19:20 Hans-Joachim Hinrichsen:
Between Terminology and Metaphor. The Analytical Content of Theodor W. Adorno’s Early Essays on Franz Schubert [Abstract]

WEDNESDAY, 5.11.2003
Morning Session
Chair: Katy Romanou
11:00 – 11:30 Anastasios Hapsulas:
Music Analysis in Ethnomusicology. Problems and Prospects [Abstract]
11:30 – 12:00 Alexandra Goulaki-Voutyra:
Rhythm in Texts and Depictions of the Antiquity [Abstract]
12:00 – 12:30 Anastasia Georgaki:
New Trends in the Analysis of the Electroacoustic Music: Tools, Methodology and Technical Problems [Abstract]
12:30 – 13:00 George P. Ploumbides:
Manos Hatzidakis’ To a little white quahog [Abstract]

Afternoon Session
Chair: Ion Zottos
17:00 – 17:30 Nikolas Lagoumitzis:
Interpretive Interventions in Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas, as a Means of Approaching the Musical Form [Abstract]
17:30 – 18:00 Nikos Tsouchlos:
Tempo, Sonority and the Analysis of Music [Abstract]
18:00 – 18:40 Nicholas Cook:
In Real Time: Music as Performance [Abstract]
18:40 – 19:20 Nicholas Zumbro:
George Tsontakis’ Ghost Variations for Piano [Abstract]

THURSDAY, 6.11.2003
Morning Session
Chair: Nicholas Cook
11:00 – 11:30 Ioannis Fulias:
Interpretative Approaches of a Multidimensional Work: Beethoven’s Große Fuge [Abstract]
11:30 – 12:00 George Fitsioris:
The General with the Hips of a Ballerina and the Feet of a Hare: The Slow Introduzione of Beethoven’s String Quartet Op. 59 No 3 [Abstract]
12:00 – 12:30 Katy Romanou:
“All are Happy and Haydn’s Tableau is Complete” [Abstract]
12:30 – 13:00 George Zervos:
Types of Thematic Entities (Expositions) and Recapitulations in Two-Part Inventions of J. S. Bach [Abstract]

Afternoon Session
Chair: Hans-Joachim Hinrichsen
17:00 – 17:40 Makis Solomos:
Adorno and Musical Analysis [Abstract]
17:40 – 18:20 Hermann Danuser:
The “World of Pictures” in Mahler’s Fourth Symphony. On Theodor W. Adorno’s Musical Metaphorology [Abstract]
18:20 – 19:00 Olivier Revault d’Allonnes:
On the Traces of Adorno: What is Social in the Tonal System? [Abstract]
19:00 – 19:30 Summing up the acts and closure of the congress (Olympia Psychopedis-Frangou, Christoph Stroux)

(Thursday, 6.11.2003 at 20:30)

Marios Varvoglis
Prelude, Choral and Fugue for five parts on B-A-C-H, for string orchestra

Dmitri Shostakovich
Chamber Symphony (transcription of the String Quartet No. 8 in c minor, opus 110)

– Interval –

Joseph Haydn
Symphony in e minor, Hob. I: 44 (“Mourning”)

Joseph Haydn
Symphony in f sharp minor, Hob. I: 45 (“Farewell”)

Camerata – Friends of Music Orchestra

Conductor: Markos Tsetsos

© Musicology